In a Cloud

November 29th
The First Sunday of Advent
The readings were Psalm 25:1-10, Jeremiah 33:14-16, 1 Thessalonions 3:9-13 & Luke 21:25-36

From these readings I saw there was a strong connection about being before God, in His presence, before His righteousness. I also liked the message of His truth being revealed/people receiving knowledge about His plan.

P1090747edit

So in this artwork here, I have taken Luke 21:27’s description of the Son appearing “in a cloud with power and great glory” and applied the clouds here. The three rays are symbolic to the 3 faces of God. The man standing before the clouds is to represent the church before God and his glory.
In Luke 21:28 Jesus also tells the people that when they start to see to see the signs of the Lord’s return, then we are to look up and raise our heads, which is what I’ve done with the person in silhouette.

For the reocurring theme of righteousness I have used a red path to represent Jesus’ blood, because the only way to righteousness is through Him. God is also the Creator and Director of our paths. Psalm 25:4-5 “Make me to know your ways, O LORD; teach me your paths.
Lead me in your truth, and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you I wait all day long.”

Watercolour
2015

Leave a Reply

