The Blessing – A Hymn

I have combined two days of readings to create this piece. I had the urge to write a lyrical piece, so to help myself catch up I used the combined readings of Isaiah 19:18-25, 2 Peter 1:2-15 (December 8th), Isaiah 35:3-7, LUke 7:18-30 (December 9th) and Psalm 126 to inspire the lyrics here.

From Dec 8, I found a common theme of multiple people/groups partaking and sharing the blessing/blessings of the Lord. Healing, restoration, life, glory and excellence were also mentioned in the text which helped me understand the foundations for this hymn.

For Dec 9, there was a strong theme of salvation, restoration and sharing God’s work with others.

theblessings-hymn

Words which I’ve taken directly from the text are from these verses:
“In that day Israel will be one of three with Egypt and Assyria—a blessing in the midst of the land, 25 whom the Lord of hosts shall bless, saying, “Blessed is Egypt My people, and Assyria the work of My hands, and Israel My inheritance.”” Isaiah 19:24-25

“His divine power has granted to us all things that pertain to life and godliness, through the knowledge of him who called us to[a] his own glory and excellence,[b] 4 by which he has granted to us his precious and very great promises, so that through them you may become partakers of the divine nature, having escaped from the corruption that is in the world because of sinful desire.” 2 Peter 1:3-4

“Strengthen the weak hands,
and make firm the feeble knees.
4
Say to those who have an anxious heart,
“Be strong; fear not!
Behold, your God
will come with vengeance,
with the recompense of God.
He will come and save you.”” Isaiah 35:3-4

and additionally from 2 Corinthians 12:9-10:
“And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. 10 Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

The pattern of the hymn goes, verses: 6.6.8.6 abcb, abab, abcb
and refrain: 9.11.9.11 abcb

This is song and lyrics but I cannot access the spiritual/song and lyrics category (stupid programming of the site. Doesn’t work in either Firefox or Chrome.

“The Blessing” Written by Georgie Dee
2015

Leave a Reply

